-

  • HandMade (984)
  •     (282)
  •     (39)
  •     (7)
  •     (2)
  •     (14)
  •     (30)
  • , , , (540)
  • (383)
  •     (35)
  •    - (138)
  •     (5)
  •     (20)
  • (878)
  •     (73)
  • (216)
  • (299)
  •     (42)
  • (34)
  • (79)
  • (761)
  •     (11)
  •    : (110)
  •    : (48)
  •     (46)
  •     (107)
  •     (32)
  •     (2)
  •     (43)
  •     (8)
  •     (34)
  •     (6)
  •     (15)
  • (4)
  • (57)
  • ,,,, (427)
  •     (39)
  •     (32)
  •     (62)
  •     (65)
  •     (41)
  •     (27)
  •     (35)
  •     (94)
  • (308)
  • (150)
  • (155)
  •     (29)
  • (45)
  •     (9)
  •     (29)
  • (357)
  • (237)
  • (383)
  •     (4)
  •     (1)
  •     (11)
  •     (2)
  •     (1)
  •     (5)
  •     (18)
  •     (9)
  •    - (1)
  •     (2)
  •     (1)
  •     (2)
  •     (9)
  •     (27)
  •     (4)
  •     (28)
  •     (21)
  •     (12)
  •     (15)
  •     (13)
  •     (33)
  •     (17)
  •     (17)
  •     (7)
  •     (3)
  •     (5)
  • (670)
  •     (80)
  •     (101)
  •     (363)
  •     (129)
  • (2583)
  •     (32)
  •     (182)
  •    , , (442)
  •     (63)
  •     (355)
  •     (449)
  •     (124)
  •     (108)
  •     (33)
  •     (57)
  •    , (28)
  •     (666)
  •     (140)
  • (1)
  • (40)
  • (86)
  • (96)
  • (11)
  • (2)
  • (510)
  •     (58)
  •     (22)
  •     (65)
  •     (18)
  •     (55)
  •     (13)
  •     (96)
  •     (64)
  •     (2)
  •     (35)
  • (261)
  • (18)
  • (1666)
  •    , (314)
  •    , , , (97)
  •     (329)
  •    , , (162)
  •     (144)
  •     (310)
  •     (179)
  •     (8)
  •     (33)
  •     (99)
  •    , (45)
  • (221)
  •     (55)
  •     (116)
  •    , , , (55)
  • (215)
  •     (15)
  •     (174)
  •     , , (25)
  • (82)
  • (123)
  • (412)
  •     (101)
  •     (60)
  •     , (168)
  •     (46)
  • (9)
  • , (177)
  • (184)
  • (1668)
  • (3)
  • (922)

 -

   Tatiana_Miroshnichenko

 - e-mail

 

 -

( : 1) __

 -

 LiveInternet.ru:
: 28.10.2010
: 18734
: 750
: 20211

:


: (Modal Verbs)

, 26 2014 . 15:43 +


:

(Modal Verbs)

- : http://dontspeak.podster.fm/34
- .

11 (634x389, 125Kb)

- , , , , , .. , .

She must be crazy! I couldn't understand him because I don't speak French. You should have called me first I may be able to come to your party if I have the time.

can, could, must, have to, have got to, may, might, ought, shall, should, be to, need, dare.

have, be, should , , need, have, be, get .

, :

1. . , (, ). . be to, ought to, have to, have got to to, ( to).

:
I can fly an aeroplane.
.

He should behave.
.

"May I go now?" "Yes, you may (go)."
? , . ( , .)

You have to finish the work today.
.

2. , have to, have got to, be to, dare, , , ( , , ). , s/-es . Be to to. .

:
I am to meet him tomorrow.
.

He is to arrive soon.
.

They are to get married next month.
.

, .

:
You are to finish your homework before you go to bed.
, .

You are not to misbehave with the servants.
.

be to , . be to (was / were).

:
They were to have been married last month, but had to postpone the marriage.
, .

be to , .

:
This medicine is to be taken twice daily.
.

This book is not to be resold.
..

:
I can swim.
.

She can swim. ( She cans swim.)
.

He may help you.
, , .

He may be swimming right now.
, , .

3. , ( ).

4. ( have to). , not.

:
Can you come over here?
?

May I ask you a question?
?

You mustn't (= must not) talk to the teacher that way.
.

I shouldn't be talking about it.
.

:
Do you have to go now?
?

I don't have to go now.
.

.

can . , , . , , .

:
I can ride a horse.
. ( .)

We can stay with my brother when we are in Paris.
, . ( .)

She cannot stay out after 10 pm.
10 . ( .)

Can you hand me the stapler?
? ( .)

Any child can grow up to be president.
. ( .)

can ,

. can .


1.
2.
3.
1.
2.
3.
can
1. I can speak Chinese.
-.

2. "could"
I could speak Chinese when I was a kid.
, -.

3. "be able to"
I will be able to speak Chinese by the time I finish my course.
, -. 1. I can't speak Swahili.
.

2. "could"
I couldn't speak Swahili.
.

3. "be able to"
I won't be able to speak Swahili.
. be able to
can
- , 1. With a burst of adrenaline, people can pick up cars.
, .

2. "be able to"
With a sudden burst of adrenaline, he was able to lift the car off the child's leg.
, .

3. "be able to"
With a sudden burst of adrenaline, he will be able to lift the car.
, . 1. Even with a burst of adrenaline, people can't pick up something that heavy.
, .

2. "could"
Even the weight lifter, couldn't lift the car off the child's leg.
.

3. "be able to"
Even three men working together won't be able to lift the car.
. be able to
can
1. I have some free time. I can help her now.
, .

2. "be able to"
I had some free time yesterday. I was able to help her at that time.
, .

3. I'll have some free time tomorrow. I can help her then.
, . 1. I don't have any time. I can't help her now.
. .

2. "be able to"
I didn't have time yesterday. I wasn't able to help her at that time.
, .

3. I won't have any time later. I can't help her then.
, . be able to
can
, 1. I can drive Susan's car when she is out of town.
(= ) , .

2. "be allowed to"
I was allowed to drive Susan's car while she was out of town last week.
(= ) , .

3. I can drive Susan's car while she is out of town next week.
(= ) , . 1. I can't drive Susan's car when she is out of town.
(= ) , .

2. "be allowed to"
I wasn't allowed to drive Susan's car while she was out of town last week.
(= ) , .

3. I can't drive Susan's car while she is out of town next week.
(= ) , . be allowed to, may
can
Can I have a glass of water?
?

Can you give me a lift to school?
?

. Can't I have a glass of water?
?

Can't you give me a lift to school?
?

. could, may
can
Anyone can become rich and famous if they know the right people.
, .

Learning a language can be a real challenge.
.

. It can't cost more than a dollar or two.
, .

You can't be 45! I thought you were about 18 years old.
45 ! 18.

. could
can , , , , , (It can't cost more than a dollar or two. You can't be 45! I thought you were about 18 years old.)

:
Can he have gone?
? (= , .)

could, :

She can't (= couldn't) have said it.
. (= , .)

can could (see, smell, taste, understand, feel, hear .) , . .

:
Can you see that house?
?

Can you hear that strange noise?
?

could . . could can.

:
Extreme rain could cause the river to flood the city.
- . ( .)

Nancy could ski like a pro by the age of 11.
11 . ( .)

You could see a movie or go out to dinner.
. ( .)

Could I use your computer to email my boss?
, ? ( .)

We could go on the trip if I didn't have to work this weekend.
- , . ( .)

could ,

. could .


1.
2.
3.
1.
2.
3.
could
1. John could be the one who stole the money.
, .

2. John could have been the one who stole the money.
, .

3. John could go to jail for stealing the money.
. 1. Mary couldn't be the one who stole the money.
, .

2. Mary couldn't have been the one who stole the money.
, .

3. Mary couldn't possibly go to jail for the crime.
. might, may
could
can 1. If I had more time, I could travel around the world.
, .

2. If I had had more time, I could have traveled around the world.
, .

3. If I had more time this winter, I could travel around the world.
, . 1. Even if I had more time, I couldn't travel around the world.
, .

2. Even if I had had more time, I couldn't have traveled around the world.
, .

3. Even if I had more time this winter, I couldn't travel around the world.
, .
could
1. .

2. You could have spent your vacation in Hawaii.
.

3. You could spend your vacation in Hawaii.
. .
could
I could run ten miles in my twenties.
, .

I could speak Chinese when I was a kid.
, -.

could , be able to.
Yesterday, I could lift the couch by myself. ()
Yesterday, I was able to lift the couch by myself. ()
. I couldn't run more than a mile in my twenties.
, .

I couldn't speak Swahili.
.

could .
Yesterday, I couldn't lift the couch by myself. ()
. be able to
could
Could I have something to drink?
- ?

Could I borrow your stapler?
(= ) ?

. Couldn't he come with us?
?

Couldn't you help me with this for just a second?
?

. can, may
, :

- can :

Can you help me?
?

- could :

Could you help me?
?

:
May
- may :

May I come in?
?

:
Cheryl may be at home, or perhaps at work.
, . ( , .)

Johnny, you may leave the table when you have finished your dinner.
, - , . ( .)

May I use your bathroom?
? ( .)

Might
might . , might , , .

:
Your purse might be in the living room.
. ( .)

If I didn't have to work, I might go with you.
, . ( .)

You might visit the botanical gardens during your visit.
. ( .)

Might I borrow your pen?
? ( .)
Must
, , . , , have to. Must not - , should not ought not.

:
This must be the right address!
, , ! ( , .)

Students must pass an entrance examination to study at this school.must
, . ( .)

You must take some medicine for that cough.
- . ( .)

Jenny, you must not play in the street!
, ! ( .)
Have To
( ). have to , , - must, , - .

:
This answer has to be correct.
, , . ( , .)

They had to leave early.
. ( , .)

The soup has to be stirred continuously to prevent burning.
, . ( .)
Have Got To
Drivers have got to get a license to drive a car in the US.
, , . ( .)

I have got to be at work by 8:30 am.
8.30 . ( .)
Should
, , , .

:
When you go to Berlin, you should visit the palaces in Potsdam.
, . ( .)

You should focus more on your family and less on work.
. ( .)

I really should be in the office by 7:00 am.
7 . ( .)

By now, they should already be in Dubai.
. ( .)

Ought To
, . ought to , - . ought not to -, should not had batter not.

:
You ought to stop smoking.
. ( .)

Jim ought to get the promotion.
. ( , , .)

This stock ought to increase in value.
. ( .)

Mark ought not to drink so much.
. ( -.)
Need
need "", "". need ( s , ed , , ..). need to.

:
One needs to be punctual.
.

He needed some more time to decide the question.
, .

Do you need to go now?
?

I don't need to talk to him.
.
Dare .

dare : dare , dared . " -". , , , how .

:
How dare she come here?
?

He dared not look at her.
.

dare , . , dare, .

:
Nobody dared to ask him about it.
.

I knew that he had never dared to come to their house since that incident.
, .

dare to.
Shall
shall I we. (: Shall we go? ?). Shall . shall . Shall . , shall .

:
Shall I help you?
? ( .)

I shall never forget where I came from.
, . ( .)

He shall become our next king.
. ( .)

I'm afraid Mr. Smith shall become our new director.
, . ( .)
Had Better
had better . , .

:
You had better take your umbrella with you today.
. ( .)

That bus had better get here soon!
! ( .)

You had better watch the way you talk to me in the future!
, ! ( , .)
:  

5
: 1

Lada_Vitalina   , 04 2014 . 11:31 ()
   

, 04 2014 . 16:37
: [1] []
 

:
: 

: ( )

:

  URL