-

   serhiy

 - e-mail

 

 -

 -

 LiveInternet.ru:
: 13.12.2003
:
:
: 181

:


( Dopesick ) Adam Albright - 2017

, 31 2017 . 08:30 +
11 (700x466, 334Kb)
: Matt Zane
Scott Martin: Dopesick ?
Adam Albright: 98, 97, Skinlab , , , . , . , Dopesick , - : Holy shit. . ! Steven Tyler . , ! , , Dopesick , 20 ...
Scott Martin: EP , The Love and Terror Cult?
Adam Albright: . Van Nuys , Pawn Shop Studios, Patrick Burkholder, . . Aaron Rossi. Ministry , , LA (-) , Patrick . , - , , - . , - Aaron .
Scott Martin: Aaron ?
Adam Albright: . . Aaron . Seattle. . , , . - . , , . Aaron -, , . . , , Aaron . , .
Scott Martin: - ?
Adam Albright: . , , , - , . , , , , - . , . , , - , . - , . - , , , , , .
Scott Martin: - ?
Adam Albright: , KISS 79, . Dynasty . Ace Frehley, Ace Frehley. , , Ace Frehley. Ace Frehley - ! Bad Brains , Bad Brains, . . Stevie Wonder. The Cure. King 810. . . Rolling Stones. , ? , . . . - - , ?
. . - , , . , .
Scott Martin: Dopesick ?
Adam Albright: , , , . . - , . , . . , - Fruitvale - , - . Fruitvale . . . Slayer Rage Against the Machine. -. . , . . , , 4 5 - . . . - , ?
Scott Martin: Yeah, because Ive been listening to the album quite a bit lately, and Hayes N Webster sounds like its very Ministry-influenced.
Adam Albright: Thats cool. I love Ministry. I liked Ministry before Aaron was in Ministry, but actually Scott Sargeant, the guy who used to play in Skinlab, MOD, Killing Culture, all kind of shit, me and him were roommates for a while. We got a drum machine, and I didnt know how to use it, and Scotty is a genius with all that stuff. One day, we just got stoned and he programmed a loop for me, and I had that loop forever. I just wanted to use it, so it fell into place on the EP. Yep. Scotty did that stuff.
Scott Martin: The bay area had a history of being the melting pot for thrash metal in the 80s.
Adam Albright: But when I was there we still had good shit. We had the Kabuki. We had Berkeley Square. We had something, Club Chaos. We had something in Alameda. But there was a lot of stuff I mean Machine Head was just kind of breaking in so they did Ten Ton Hammer video at Berkeley Square. I saw that and you know and that was still cool music going back then. Shit hell of stuff I just cant remember everything right now. I miss that. I miss the camaraderie kind of, you know? Theres still some of those guys up there still doing it though. The Devil In California is a good band up there. Infex is good up there. Somebody else that I like, shit.
Scott Martin: What Bay area bands have been your local influences?
Adam Albright: Infex is kind of like thrashy and The Watchers, there we go goddamn it, I forgot. Thats the one. The Watchers are the shit. Jeremy, Cornbread and Tim; Tim is a killer singer, killer song-writer.
And the perfect sound for right now, whats going on. That Sabbath Highway song and videos songs they got, the new video one, Just A Needle or something like that or whatever. The solos ripped dude. It rips. Hopefully, he brings guitar players back to the world. Spiral Arms. Whats funny is that Tims been in a bunch of bands and like each one was good. Like each one was good to its own like Systematic, you know? I think The Watchers is the best one just because I think its a killer group of guys. I think they all are perfect guys.
Ive known Jeremy since back in Breach and The Venting Machine. He was actually going to play drums in Dopesick for one segment. Yeah, Jeremys pretty multi-talented musician. Hes a really good guitar player and I feel The Watchers, The Devil In California, Infex and then the rap group from San Jose, Gorilla Voltage.
Scott Martin: Gorilla Voltage, thats interesting. I lived in San Jose and I never heard of them.
Adam Albright: Theyre out of San Jose. I grew up with Mark. Theyre really good at rap. Theyre on tour right now with Twizted.
The Devil In California is different kind of rock, Infex is kind of like Thrash Metal. And then the rap. So, theres all my influences right there just in local influences, you know what I mean?
Scott Martin: I assume that the song Fruitvale is about the BART stop where Oscar Grant was killed by the Oakland Police Department?
Adam Albright: Absolutely. Thanks for saying his name. I try to always say Oscar Grants name, so its not just the kid that got shot.
I saw the movie and it was sad. I get choked up just thinking about it because The movies the movie, but basically, the story is he just went out, got in some shit, and a cop pulled his gun thinking it was a taser and shot the kid. Thats not acceptable. He got two years in prison. He did less than a year in prison, and Id like to give that song to Oscar Grants mom and just say, Hey. I wrote this after hearing about your son and seeing it, but that was my stop when I was in Oakland.
Scott Martin: I was going through your songs. You really stay true to your Bay Area roots. I can tell by your songs. Also, Hayes N Webster Isnt that a cross-streets in San Francisco?
Adam Albright: Thats where me and Scottie lived. That was our apartment. Thats why I named it that, because thats where he ran the drum machine. Six months, maybe, but wed come home and thered be gunshots up and down the street, just crazy little spot, so yeah. That was crazy time for me and Scottie both probably.
Scott Martin: I was always wondering what the actual significance of the Hayes N Webster is, besides it being a street in San Francisco. Can you tell me what is Release Me and Ride the Night about?
Adam Albright: I dont know. Ride the Night is about having fun and being out in the sun and just enjoying life. To me, Jahred (Hed PE) wrote that, so you have to ask Jahred that one. To me, I wrote the hook part, the noisy part, and its just about being outside and having fun to me, and good energy. Release Me, Cristian Machado (Ill Nino) wrote that one, so youd have to talk to him about that, but I dont know I dont know. I dont think its a really happy one, but I dont know. I like the song a lot though. It moves good.
Scott Martin: What I noticed about listening to your EP, its extremely diverse. You have a little of everything on there. You have the reggae, you have the metal with Release Me, and Hayes N Webster, and then you have the really slowed down acoustic instrumentals like Fruitvale, and I really like it. I think you did a great job. Only problem, I felt like I was being cheated. Its such a short album, and I felt like I wanted more. Im like, I want more.
Adam Albright: Thats good though. Thats good. If it sucked, youd be like, Fuck this, and throw it away, so at least some people are like, I want more, so thats cool. Sometimes you want more and you cant always get more, but the full-length will have everything on it. People will be a lot happier, probably, with the full-length, because therell be more metal on it. Therell be more songs, because I have more time to get more.
Scott Martin: So, you used to play with Sebastian Bach?
Adam Albright: Yep. I wrote Angel Down was a Dopesick song, and I heard he was looking for a guitar player so I sent him the Angel Down demo, and he liked it. I went out there and auditioned and played that and some other Skid Row songs and got that job and did that for a while. But I recorded with him on Angel Down and thats his title track to his second solo CD, I think? First or second CD solo CD.
Scott Martin: Did you play on tour with him?
Adam Albright: Yeah. We toured with Twisted Sister for a while, and then toured with Twisted Sister and Alice Cooper for a couple nights and it was cool. Fun.
Scott Martin: Oh, boy. That sounds like fun.
Adam Albright: Yeah, Twisted Sister was super cool.
Scott Martin: So, besides Skinlab and Sebastian Bach, who else have you been with?
Adam Albright: Thats pretty much it as far as main people, but Ive been doing Dopesick for a long time and then I did a little solo thing, Adam Albright and the Unstables, and you know, Ive always been doing something. You know, whether it was out playing, or I was just hanging around with somebody in a room, and actually a lot of the 9mm stuff is turning into Dopesick stuff. You know, I just kind of took a break from Dopesick for a while and moved to North Carolina and I started doing 9mm Disco and just kind of just trying to get my bearings back again.so were you with Skinlab in the beginning?
I was with Skinlab when we did the demo that got us signed, and I went to prison right when that happened. And then we got signed for the Bound, Gagged and Blindfolded record. And when I got out of prison in 98, I toured with them for a little while and then quit again, or me and Steev got into it again. Stopped that but I was pretty much, I think, the original guitar player. There was a guy before me that did some stuff, but I think I was the original guy in that.
Scott Martin: Yeah, theyve gone through quite a bit of lineup changes in the last several years.
Adam Albright: Oh, yeah. Theyve gone through probably I think theyve had more guitar players than anybody in the world, dude. I was probably the second or third guitar player, and then theyve had probably 30 guitar players. Which is a joke to me. Thats disgusting, dude. Its stupid.
Scott Martin: I got just a couple off-the-wall questions. What would you say is the greatest song ever written? Not genre-specific, I mean just in general, the greatest overall song that was ever written in your opinion?
Adam Albright: Man. Shit, dude, thats a hard one. Theres I mean, theres so many songs that are killer like Stairway to Heaven and Hotel California, or like those songs are amazing songs, you know what I mean? But the greatest song ever written.
Scott Martin: I know its a tough one. I mean, I came up with Bohemian Rhapsody.
Adam Albright: Words by Missing Persons. How about that?
Scott Martin: Everyone will have a different answer on that question. There is no wrong or no right, just an opinion.
Adam Albright: Thats today.
Scott Martin: In your opinion, who is the greatest frontman in music?
Adam Albright: H.R.. H.R. from Bad Brains.PERIOD! I mean, his energy like, if you see old videos of him I mean, the energy, dude. Like hes just shaking, like just thats fucking so intense and so heavy duty, so you know, then theres different styles, like Rod Stewart is killer, Mick Jagger is killer, but for me, if I could have H.R. in my band, Id take H.R. any day of the week.
http://anticdn1.antiheromagazine.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/dopesick1-copy.jpg http://anticdn1.antiheromagazine.com/wp-content/up...17/05/dopesick1-copy.jpgPhoto: Matt Zane
Scott Martin: I remember a couple years back, I went to a show called the California Roots Music Festival, its a 3-day Reggae Festival thats in Monterey and they had a Skunk Records Celebration/Jam with members of Sublime and other Skunk Records alumni. They brought H.R. up on stage to perform a couple songs with the band. I found it amazing that half of the crowd had no idea who H.R was. If it was not for H.R, we would not be here right now.
Adam Albright: Hes completely different now. Thats because people dont know where their music comes from, they listen to one or two songs and think they know everything, and its like, if you research radar detector if you research music, I mean, you know I dont know. If you grew up with music and shit, you know whats right and whats wrong, and whats good and bad, I think, so. I mean, Bad Brains influenced so many people, you know? Every genre, you know? Metal, punk, reggae, whatever it is, that was just a very influential band, and I love that band. I love H.R. I love that band.
Scott Martin: Can you tell me, what is your opinion on music streaming sites such as Spotify, Google Play and Pandora? And of people downloading music for charge and for free. I know its stealing money from out of your pockets.
Adam Albright: Yeah, I dont know much about it. Im not real computer smart but if I happen to hear a band on YouTube, if I like them I go buy the CD, you know? I use that. I think its kind of cool. I go on Wikipedia. I check out whatevers going on. And then I go buy it.
So, all the people that bitch and complain like their saying this or that, I dont think they buy music, you know? I dont think they go to shows. I dont think they support music. I think they spend their money on other things. Which whatever, but dont bitch if you dont buy something youre not part of it, you know what I mean? You can go spend ten dollars for a beer but you cant spend $8 for a CD? And you are going to have the CD forever. Youre going to piss the fucking beer out in a minute. So, you know I think that if people started buying music again or maybe if they can you know. Sometimes I buy a record with one song on it thats good and Im pissed.
So, you know thats another reason why I want to try and have some diversity like records I bought when I was little Even Ozzy, I mean Ozzys diverse. Hes got fucking pianos and fucking all kind of shit. Listen to Alice Cooper records. Listen to an old Alice Cooper record. Like, what the hell is this? Well, its like diverse. Led Zeppelin, Bad Brains, just all that music is diverse. And its not just cookie-cutter, every song sounds the same as the other band. I think thats what happens.
Scott Martin: Tell me a little bit about the listening party you had for The Love and Terror Cult EP?
Adam Albright: It was cool. I did it back in Destin, Florida and thats where I went to high school and middle school, so it was cool. The radio station there was doing a lot for me and they were playing it a bunch and doing ads and stuff, so it was cool. Its a weird place there, its not like they dont have a lot of music there, so you know, it was cool to go do it there. Plus, the place that we did it in was the first place that I had ever played live, like when I was 18 or 17 or some shit. That was the first place I played live music, so it was cool for me to go back and do it there. But it went pretty good. I sold some records, gave some records out.
Scott Martin: Do you have all the songs written for the full-length album?
Adam Albright: Pretty much. I mean, half of it is done. Half the stuff is done with Aaron. Going to go through some of those songs, but then I wrote a whole new bunch of shit, too, so its like thats going on the record. So, we are just trying to compile the best songs, get them tight, and then were going to do the vocals on those good.
There is more fucking heavy metal shit on there, theres, again, more reggae on it, theres some punk on there, but theres going to be some more electronic music. The EP is just a small version of what the full length is going to be, you know?
Scott Martin: So basically, you released the EP to kind of test the waters to see what the reaction would be because I love the EP, its very diverse, it has a little of this, a little of that. Like you were saying the one person that reviewed it ripped it up because it was so different, but actually a lot of bands you listen to, its all the same style and has all the same sound, which can kind of be monotonous.
Adam Albright: Boring Only one person ripped it up. This one lady ripped it up, but other than that Ive been getting pretty good reviews on it. Thats what I think is cool, though, is the diversity of it. People are bored with music and people talk so much shit about the music scene and stuff. Its like well, fucking just make some more better music. Try and make some diverse music. You know, every song on the record doesnt sound the same and when you buy a CD that one song is the only one thats good, you know? Id rather try and make fucking songs that are good songs and diverse songs and dude, Im up and down. Like one day I am fucking happy, one day Im really upset so that comes out in my music, you know?
I might write heavy shit, but it just depends on my mood, so whatever my mood is that is what Im going to write, and I dont care who likes it or who tries to pigeonhole it to whatever, Im going to write music, man. Im going to play music.
Scott Martin: I didnt realize that I know you said you were working on Dopesick for a long time, but you had prior albums with Dopesick, right?
Adam Albright: Theres an EP out called Vendetta.
Scott Martin: And I definitely think that with anybody that listens to your music thats from the San Francisco Bay area could totally relate to your music. Because as I said like Fruitvale is about Oakland, August 1969, Hayes N Webster, it all has a very strong Bay Area appeal to it.
Adam Albright: I love the city until all that tech stuff moved in. Because the city is not the city anymore you know? I moved back to San Francisco and was just like heart-broken, you know? So, I went to L.A. I was like, Im not staying in this shit. The Mission District is different. All the people are different. Everybody I know lives two hours out of the city. Nobody I know really except one dude was in the city and was just Its not the same vibe, you know? The people are different, just everything.
:  
: 22

   , 04 2018 . 00:01 ()
+
   
   , 06 2018 . 09:17 ()
+
   
: [1] []
 

:
: 

: ( )

:

  URL