-Поиск по дневнику

Поиск сообщений в s5bdhit762

 -Подписка по e-mail

 

 -Статистика

Статистика LiveInternet.ru: показано количество хитов и посетителей
Создан: 17.03.2018
Записей: 14
Комментариев: 0
Написано: 14


Athens To Aegina Explained In Fewer Than 140 Characters

Суббота, 01 Июня 2019 г. 22:39 + в цитатник

One writer chronicles his trip to the island of Ithaca, where Odysseus was once reputedly king.

I STEPPED INTO a taxi on my arrival in Athens and pointed out the name of one of the city's most main first-class hotels. The motorist was tossed into a craze, and not just due to the fact that he appeared to speak no English. As we zigzagged at high speed through the jampacked streets, he tapped desperately on his smart device and started calling buddies, none of whom were any help at all. When, lastly, we brought up at the entryway, I was welcomed by a wild-haired, gesticulating front-desk man who said, "We're so sorry, sir. We have a problem, a big issue, today. So we have made an appointment for you in our other hotel. Half a block away."





The issue, the taxi driver conveyed, was that every toilet in the hotel had actually flooded.

In the elegant new place where I ended up-- it took us 20 minutes to walk around the corner thanks to narrow, one-way streets-- I strolled into an elevator to be faced by two thickly bearded Orthodox priests completely clerical gown packed into the same small space, mobile phones extending from their pockets as they wanted me, in easy English, "Good night." The chaos of the little lanes I 'd simply come through, the sunlit dishevelment of the buildings, which seemed to be collapsing as much as rising, the tombs in the middle of the city: I felt, rather happily, as if I were not in Europe however in Beirut or Amman.

[Coming soon: the T List newsletter, a weekly roundup of what T Magazine editors are discovering and coveting. Sign up here.]



The genuine antiquity in Greece, I thought-- and this is its long-lasting blessing, for a visitor-- is its daily life; on this return journey, backtracking a course I 'd followed 35 years in the past, from the classical sites of the Peloponnese (ill-starred Mycenae and healing Epidaurus) all the method to day trips from athens Odysseus' storied home on Ithaca, I was noticing that it's specifically the sluggish, human-scaled, somewhat broken-down nature of plans here that gives the country much of its human charm. Yes, you can still see Caravaggio faces around the Colosseum in Rome; along the ghats in Varanasi, India, you're among the clamor and piety of the Vedas. But in Greece, it's the absence of modern-day advancements-- of high-rises and high-speed technologies-- that can make you feel as if you're walking among the ancient theorists and tragedians who offered us our sense of hubris and catharsis.

Forget the reality that the Klitemnistra hotel is down the street from Achilles Parking; what truly gives Greece its sense of being changeless is that the Lonely World manual offers you a cure for the evil eye, and a male is crossing himself intensely as he tries to double-park. The Grecian formula that keeps the place permanently young-- and old, and itself-- has less to do with the monuments of kings and gods than merely with the rhythms of the day: Fishing boats are heading out prior to very first light and the shepherd's kid is leading the priest's niece under the olive trees in the early morning. Black-clad females are gossiping in the shade and donkeys clop and stop over ill-paved stones in the siesta-silent, sunlit afternoon. In the evening, there's the clatter of pots from the tavernas and the sound of laughter under lights around the harbor.

All in a landscape where the deep blue sea surrounds you on every side, and the indigo and scarlet and orange flowerpots are brilliant with geraniums and begonias. It's not just that you feel the presence of a rural past all over in Greece; it's that, amidst this essential landscape of rock and cobalt sky and whitewashed church, you step out of the calendar entirely and into the realm of allegory.

MY FIRST FULL day in Greece on this trip-- I have actually been checking out the country for more than 50 years-- I made my way to Mycenae, the 3,300-year-old acropolis 75 miles from Athens that was the unstable base for your house of Atreus. After five decades of reading about the slaughter of Agamemnon in his bath tub, I was cooled: by the stubby rocks throughout the prohibiting hillside, by the noise of the wind whipping in my ears, by the silence even amidst the crowds. The entire website is monitory and stark, and the watchtower hilltops, produced identifying intruders, choose the tholos tombs and Bronze Age antiques that encircle the red-tiled vacation homes of the Peloponnese.

Barely 30 miles away, Epidaurus is tonic light to Mycenae's shadow, a reminder of why we treasure ancient Greece as the house of harmony and wisdom. I stepped into the sunken dorm room referred to as the Abaton, inside Asclepius' sanctuary there-- the walls tell of visitors 24 centuries ago being recovered by their dreams-- and couldn't withstand the alleviative spell. The amphitheater in the distance provides ideal proportions and acoustics; yellow butterflies were flitting between groves of trees along the so-called Sacred Way. Mycenae may be the black-and-blood-red landscape of Greek disasters, but Epidaurus offers us the clarity and greater geometry of Pythagoras. In Homer, naturally, both worlds amazingly assemble in stories of how people attempt to clear their minds of the bad imagine jealousy, murder and nostalgia.

Yet in all honesty, it remained in Nafplio, my everyday base for these excursions throughout the Peloponnese, that I heard Places to visit in athens most consistently the whisper of the past. There was a raggedness to the narrow passages of its Old Town, the uneven stones along its steep staircases, that jolted me into a sense of intimacy; as I strolled around the climbing up lanes, I could hear bells clanging and the sound of cups rattling, a spoon against a pan. The interiors of the little houses were dark, relaxing, plain, and there was a Sunday-morning stillness that took me back to the unhurried corners of the world.

Crones were strolling, arm in arm, down to the water as the sun decreased, past coffee shops where nine or 11 males sat together, nursing their little coffees in silence. Chants boiled down to us from a 15th-century shrine to the Virgin, tucked into a crag ignoring the sea. Candle lights flickered in little memorials along the waterside, around framed portraits of lost kids, much as they may on the mountain roadways of Bolivia.

Going back to my hotel room, I walked out onto my balcony and saw an onetime executioner's home in front of me, a few hundred backyards across the water. Up above was the Palamidi castle, thick with jail cells and "murder holes" through which protecting warriors could forecast arrows and scalding water. Visiting another hotel that morning, I 'd got out of the breakfast room and discovered myself on the battlements of a cluster of fortresses known to Venetians and Crusaders. Just down the street, in the incense-haloed church, a painting recalled this as the site where the very first governor of an independent modern Greece had actually been assassinated, in 1831, by one opponent bearing a knife, one bring a handgun.

MATURING IN England, I was motivated to feel that Greece was the alpha and omega of the ancient world as my buddies and I puzzled over its strange letters in our little green copies of Xenophon and Plato. My classmates frequently took off for Mount Athos, the independently ruled peninsula of 20 Orthodox monasteries that British travelers from Robert Byron and Patrick Leigh Fermor to William Dalrymple and, in fact, Prince Charles, have actually long haunted. Even now, one can see monks there observe the Julian calendar and inform the hours, as Colin Thubron notes in his recent novel, "Night of Fire," "in the old Byzantine mode."

The frescoes on the holy mountain "appeared to return us to a primitive, purer time," Thubron composes, "closer to scripture," and this sense of Greece as an antechamber to the modern-day moment has actually never appeared to pass away. "There must be a God," Bruce Chatwin wrote as he surveyed "an iron cross on a rock by the sea" on Mount Athos. The notoriously whimsical nomad surprised his pals by planning to be baptized on the island; his funeral was kept in the icon-cluttered Orthodox Cathedral of St. Sophia in Central London.

I considered all this as I began riding buses around the Peloponnese, reminded at every turn that it's precisely what makes Greece something of an outlier in the European Union that gives it its almost Asian magnetism. The very first time I boarded a long-distance bus, for the two-hour journey from Athens to Nafplio, I saw 6 good-luck beauties plastered on its windows and another dangling from the chauffeur's mirror. The trucks that passed us, as in India, bore hand-painted signs that stated "God bless."

Raucous music was flooding through the aisles, and a sophisticated matron nearby mumbled prayers to herself whenever the driver launched. When I had to change buses at Corinth, the station ended up being a busy truck stop of sorts, with 3 "Toy Story" game video games, a substantial picture of James Dean and some cheap plaster statues of Apollo and Athena beside mugs portraying Che Guevara and the logo design from "The Godfather."

Obviously, the wish to display antiquity-- and turn it to advantage-- is hardly ever shy in a nation that depends upon tourist for its sustenance. On arrival in Nafplio, I discovered myself in a mess of signs promoting "traditional handmade ice-cream" and "standard hotels" (not a term that influences self-confidence). In a town said to be more than 3,000 years old, founded (it's declared) by the child of Poseidon, one shop wore the boast "given that 1996" and another presented "standard artist's healing fidget toy (inspired exclusively because 1999)." There's a worry-bead museum in Nafplio-- not to be puzzled with the nearby worry-bead workshop-- somewhere near the Antica Gelateria di Roma and the "ancient Greek" massage parlor featuring "Thai, shiatsu and reiki" treatments not, maybe, so familiar to Agamemnon or his wife.

But that was the point, really. The adjectives Homer utilizes for Odysseus persistently are "crafty" and "resourceful" and "resilient"; it's only natural that his descendants market an "initial wood-fired oven" on his home island of Ithaca. Undoubtedly, a contemporary visitor might quickly think that one reason the enterprising hero took a decade to come home from the wars was that his ferryboat was constantly delayed.

NO ONE IN GREECE appears in a rush to get anywhere. It took me a taxi, two long bus rides, two boats and another taxi-- 11 hours in all-- to receive from Nafplio to my next base, Ithaca, very few miles away, and nobody I spoke to knew when, and even whether, the bus or boat would ever get here. After I landed in Sami, on Cephalonia, the island that would result in its next-door neighbor, where Odysseus reputedly lived, I joined a small group of travelers to wait, and wait, in the sun, water lapping against our feet. No one tried to offer us things, as they might in Port-au-Prince or Mumbai. We were back in a kid's box of spectacular crayons, without any indications of industry or modernity to be seen.

When finally I did set foot on Ithaca, the site that was rather wishfully said to be that of Odysseus' palace included a hut and two buildings set across a barren hill. I handled to cadge a shared ride in one of the island's only taxis, and when I arrived in the central town of Vathy, I asked a friendly travel agent about navigating. The bus, he told me, had likely completed its run for the season (it was mid-September).

I decided, therefore, to rent a cars and truck, and as I steered along the sheer, one-lane road that soon put me high above the sea, a sheer drop before me-- no guardrail on a regular basis-- I was stunned, once again and again, by the heart-clenching beauty of the place. A huge black canine extended behind the locked gate of a rental property, awaiting a modern-day returnee from the wars. No traffic was visible save for two black goats strutting across the asphalt and, lots of minutes later on, a male in a construction hat downing along on his scooter at around 6 miles per hour. I pertained to the Kathara Monastery, a remote chapel on a hill ignoring the sea, and the silence extended for miles.

As ever, the specific websites on Odysseus' island were enigmatic at best. Getting out of the car on my method to the stunning mountaintop village of Exogi, I walked along an unpaved course to the "School of Homer," to be rewarded only by a ravishing view of olive trees and blue-green coves far below. In the little town of Stavros, a set of screen boards included an essay titled "Ithaca: Conceptual Location." On Ithaca, the piece began, "the previous nor today exist. The present is not what one would think about modern, however it is situated in a limbo. A reality that would choose to be current however is unable to be so." Noting that no one actually knows what existed here or didn't, the author went on, "On the island, there is Absolutely nothing! ... Nothing ..."

As it occurs, I 'd brought along with me an American novel to match all the classically trained Englishmen who have actually romanced Greece, and as I went through Don DeLillo's "The Names" for the third time, I was chilled once more by a sense that Greece represents something distant and strong in our collective memory. A single rock, the haunted novelist wrote, has "a power like a voice in the sky." "The light was surgical, it was binding," he composes early on. "It repaired the scene before me as a minute in a dream."

It's the wildness of Greece that overwhelms, the author appeared to acknowledge, not the so-called civilization. "I feel I've known the specific clarity of this air and water," states among his expat characters, extremely perhaps a spy. "I have actually climbed up these stony paths into the hills." To which another replies, "There's a generic quality, an absoluteness. The bare hills, a figure in the range."

The novel came out in 1982, and during that summer season, I invested a whole month circumnavigating Greece, composing on the Peloponnese and the Ionian Islands for the $5-a-day student guidebook "Let's Go: Greece." It was a turning point in my life; I 'd simply turned 25, and I was leaving grad school at last to get a job in Manhattan. As I got ready for the adult years, I awakened before dawn most mornings in a no-star hotel, headed out to capture the very first bus and rode along the coast to the next small town to look in on its sights and facilities prior to heading off the next day. I have actually seldom known a more dreamy and reflective time.

At the end of my trip, my girlfriend of 6 years came by to Ithaca from Boston to join me. She looked more lovely than ever, limbs golden in her pink sundress, which was because she 'd pertain to bid farewell. I was avoiding into a brand-new life, we both comprehended. We spent our days on the island of Odysseus' homecoming getting ready for a separation. After a long night at a taverna, under colored lights and grape leaves, she descended into a boat with a brand-new friend while I trudged back to our small hotel alone.

Now, as I took a look around the island at the other end of life, I was astonished at how little it had actually altered. Yachties had found Vathy, the little main town gathered around a port, and blonde Knightsbridgeites encircled the bust of Homer. There were boutique hotels now, and swimming pools. But the Circean rhythms and mythical functions were no various from before. I went into a market to buy peaches and chocolate and juice for a peaceful supper in my room one evening and the costs came to the equivalent of $2.30, as if I were back in my grandfather's time.

On surrounding Cephalonia, at the idyllic edge of Agia Efimia known as Paradise Beach, an entire scatter of pastel rental properties has come up considering that "Captain Corelli's Mandolin" (2001) was recorded on the island, changing its fortunes. However the terrific little taverna founded by Stavros Dendrinos still stands here, as it did 37 years earlier, and when I asked if I might remain in a little space above the dining establishment, as before, Dendrinos's child Nikitas, who runs it these days, said, "Now, no more. However if you want, you can stay in my uncle's home next door."

4 days later, back on Ithaca, I sat on my balcony one early morning to enjoy the island wake up. It never ever took place. Were Odysseus to come back next year, Penelope might hardly look up from her loom, even as Telemachus asks the old man if he knows of any great jobs in the city. In the absence of neon and traffic, we were back in something like Asclepius' sanctuary: a location in which to drop off to sleep and wake up, inexplicably clarified.


 

Добавить комментарий:
Текст комментария: смайлики

Проверка орфографии: (найти ошибки)

Прикрепить картинку:

 Переводить URL в ссылку
 Подписаться на комментарии
 Подписать картинку