-Рубрики

 -Цитатник

как убрать челку - (0)

7 способов убрать челку!

Без заголовка - (0)

Завязывай шнурки правильно Хочешь выделиться и быть четким? Завязывай шнурки правильно, на теб...

One tree hill - (0)

Без заголовка “Tragedies happen. What are you gonna do, give up? Quit? No. I realize now that whe...

рисовалка - (0)

Рисовалка-2 Бонус Рисовалка Всё самое лучшее от  

Красивые закладки - (1)

behind the curtain  

 -Подписка по e-mail

 

 -Поиск по дневнику

Поиск сообщений в Christo

 -Статистика

Статистика LiveInternet.ru: показано количество хитов и посетителей
Создан: 02.03.2008
Записей:
Комментариев:
Написано: 2081


Robert Frost

Суббота, 30 Января 2010 г. 21:24 + в цитатник

Мне настолько нравится практически все, что говорил Роберт Фрост,

что вот почти целиком статья из словаря афоризмов:

Robert Frost 1874-1963

I’d like to get away from earth awhile
And then come back to it and begin over.
May no fate wilfully misunderstand me
And half grant what I wish and snatch me away
Not to return. Earth’s the right place for love:
I don’t know where it’s likely to go better.
‘Birches’ (1916)


Most of the change we think we see in life
Is due to truths being in and out of favour.
‘The Black Cottage’ (1914)


Forgive, O Lord, my little jokes on Thee
And I’ll forgive Thy great big one on me.
‘Cluster of Faith’ (1962)


And nothing to look backward to with pride,
And nothing to look forward to with hope.
‘The Death of the Hired Man’ (1914)


‘Home is the place where, when you have to go there,
They have to take you in.’
‘I should have called it
Something you somehow haven’t to deserve.’
‘The Death of the Hired Man’ (1914)


They cannot scare me with their empty spaces
Between stars—on stars where no human race is.
I have it in me so much nearer home
To scare myself with my own desert places.
‘Desert Places’ (1936)


Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favour fire.
But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.
‘Fire and Ice’ (1923)


Happiness makes up in height for what it lacks in length.
Title of poem (1942)


And were an epitaph to be my story
I’d have a short one ready for my own.
I would have written of me on my stone:
I had a lover’s quarrel with the world.
‘The Lesson for Today’ (1942)


My apple trees will never get across
And eat the cones under his pines, I tell him.
He only says, ‘Good fences make good neighbours.’
‘Mending Wall’ (1914)


I never dared be radical when young
For fear it would make me conservative when old.
‘Precaution’ (1936)


I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less travelled by,
And that has made all the difference.
‘The Road Not Taken’ (1916)


We dance round in a ring and suppose,
But the Secret sits in the middle and knows.
‘The Secret Sits’ (1942)


Len says one steady pull more ought to do it.
He says the best way out is always through.
‘A Servant to Servants’ (1914)


The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.
‘Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening’ (1923)


No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise for the writer, no surprise for the reader.
‘Collected Poems’ (1939) ‘The Figure a Poem Makes’

Poetry is what is lost in translation. It is also what is lost in interpretation.
In Louis Untermeyer ‘Robert Frost: a Backward Look’ (1964) p. 18

Рубрики:  Quotes

 

Добавить комментарий:
Текст комментария: смайлики

Проверка орфографии: (найти ошибки)

Прикрепить картинку:

 Переводить URL в ссылку
 Подписаться на комментарии
 Подписать картинку