-Рубрики

 -Приложения

  • Перейти к приложению Дешевые авиабилеты Дешевые авиабилетыВыгодные цены, удобный поиск, без комиссии, 24 часа. Бронируй сейчас – плати потом!
  • Перейти к приложению Я - фотограф Я - фотографПлагин для публикации фотографий в дневнике пользователя. Минимальные системные требования: Internet Explorer 6, Fire Fox 1.5, Opera 9.5, Safari 3.1.1 со включенным JavaScript. Возможно это будет рабо
  • Перейти к приложению Открытки ОткрыткиПерерожденный каталог открыток на все случаи жизни
  • Настольные игры онлайнМы предлагаем Вам сразиться в любимые настольные игры со своими друзьями, не отходя от компьютера. У нас вы сможете поиграть в дурака, преферанс, тысячу, нарды, шахматы, шашки, крестики-нолики, точки,

 -Поиск по дневнику

Поиск сообщений в M_A_G_D_A

 -Подписка по e-mail

 

 -Статистика

Статистика LiveInternet.ru: показано количество хитов и посетителей
Создан: 13.01.2010
Записей:
Комментариев:
Написано: 4255


Vertical planting

Среда, 14 Июля 2010 г. 00:40 + в цитатник

Tipsy Pot Planter

   106_5945
 
Two years ago, I found the plans for a “Tipsy Planter” in an online gardening magazine. I made one out of clay pots and enjoyed it all summer. When winter came, I left it out full in the freezing temperatures and one of the pots cracked and I took it apart. Since I didn’t get to garden much last year, it still looks like this:
104_5915
I have plans to redo it soon. Since I couldn’t find my original picture from the magazine, I googled and found this Tipsy Planter:
 
Aren’t they fun?? These are really easy to make and are such a good conversation piece.
I thought I would do a variation on this theme as a gift for my Mom-in-law. Since it was going to be moved, I wanted it lighter than the clay pots would be. I thought I would try plastic. I found these at Dollar General.
blog pics 126
Not the paint, lol, just the planters. My MIL is more of the white stone kind of gardener, so I thought I would try out Krylon’s Fusion Paint for plastic in a textured finish. The can says that it doesn’t need a primer and that it dries in 15 minutes. Skipping the primer step and fast drying time! A real plus for me!106_5921
This went on evenly and was very forgiving when I did spray heavily in a couple of spots. It dried fast and has a shinier finish than the Rustoleum Multi-Colored Texture.
Since this is not as heavy as the clay, I found this stake thing  at Walmart to use instead of re-bar to slide the pots over.  It’s plastic coated steel and can be cut easily with a hack saw. This was a 3 foot section that I (I mean hubby)cut down to 2 feet. 104_5914
After the paint was dry, these are the steps I used to put it all together.
Hubby cut a wood block to go in the bottom to hold the pole in place.
106_5922
Then he drilled a hole in it large enough for the pole to slide into.
 106_5923
It fits nicely.
 106_5924
Next he stacked all three small pots together and drilled  a hole in them all at the same time! :-) Smart hubby!
 106_5925
I shoveled  some potting soil into the bottom pot.
106_5926
And started adding plants.106_5927
This one looks like a mini Petunia to me! Inside the container, one plant was actually three! So I took a sharp knife and sliced down through the roots and made three out of one!  106_5928106_5930
I did the same thing to some Impatiens.
 106_5932 106_5933
I’m really liking it!
106_5935
I slid the smaller pots on the pole and filled them up too!
106_5936
106_5943  106_5942
I picked up a saucer at Home Depot this afternoon, gave it a coat of paint and put it underneath.
106_5945 
 

Серия сообщений "Vertical Garden":
Часть 1 - vertical flowers
Часть 2 - Vertical planting
Часть 3 - Maze Wall Vertical Garden
Часть 4 - Trash Bag Vertical Garden
...
Часть 11 - vertical garden
Часть 12 - planter
Часть 13 - garden of plastic bottles

Рубрики:  GARDEN
Метки:  

Процитировано 36 раз

 

Добавить комментарий:
Текст комментария: смайлики

Проверка орфографии: (найти ошибки)

Прикрепить картинку:

 Переводить URL в ссылку
 Подписаться на комментарии
 Подписать картинку